The Best of Gilbert and Sullivan (1973)

James Griffett, tenor
Christina Clark, soprano

The Westminster Symphonia
Colin Mawby, conductor
Windmill WMD 181
Windmill WMD 181

Tim Devlin filled in the details on the contents of this album:

Side 1Side 2
  • Take a pair of sparkling eyes
  • The sun whose rays
  • Stay, Frederic, stay
  • The nightingale sighed
  • A maiden fair to see
  • Prithee, pretty maiden
  • Were you not to Ko-Ko plighted
  • A wand'ring minstrel I
  • Kind sir, you cannot have the heart
  • The battle's roar is over
  • Is life a boon?
  • A simple sailor lowly born
  • Refrain audacious tar

In 2002, the set was re-issued on CD called "The Romantic Gilbert & Sullivan," with the ensemble renamed The Salon Orchestra. Added on the CD are the ballad "Once Again" and the aria "I will arise" from Sullivan's first oratorio The Prodigal Son — sung by James Griffett with Simon Lindley (Director of Music, Leeds Parish Church, England); and the partsong "The Long Day Closes" sung by Pro Cantione Antiqua.

Issue History
1973 Windmill Stereo LP WMD 181
2002 [need label] CD [need number]