The Halo Pinafore (1950s)

This album is titled "Gilbert and Sullivan: The Complete Musical Score of H.M.S. Pinafore." According to Bob Lang, there are "no credits given for anything or anyone… It is 100% orchestral, done very well and in an extremely traditional way. Unfortunately, there is no mention of the orchestra or conductor."

The selections include:

  • Overture
  • Introduction and opening chorus
  • Buttercup
  • Nightingale's Song
  • Maiden Fair to See
  • My Gallant Crew
  • We sail the ocean blue
  • When I was a lad
  • Admiral's song
  • Can I survive this overbearing
  • Things are seldom what they seem
  • The hours creep on a-pace

Not exactly "complete," but there you are.

On another page, I have listed recording of substantial excerpts of The Mikado that is clearly part of a series of excerpt discs. It is not clear whether this recording of Pinafore is part of that series, although I suspect that it is.

Issue History
195-? Halo Mono LP 50282